The Self-Fulfilling Prophecy and the Power of Words – Choose Wisely

Storm Photography by Mike Olbinski
Storm Photography by Mike Olbinski

Actual Instagram user’s profile description: “I’m not a girl. I’m a storm with skin.”

Well – no offense – that sounds simply awful.

For me, this is what is meant by the new-agey catchphrase: ‘You create your own reality.’ It’s not as Sci-fi cool and complex as The Matrix and more along the lines of what you believe to be true [focus on] for you is what becomes your life [your reality].

I’m too old for that job.
I’m not athletic.
I’m broken/damaged goods/too emotional.

I’m always going to be a depressed person.
I come from a family of fat people.
I’ve always been sickly.
I’ve always been a loner.
All the good ones are taken.

“I’m not a girl. I’m a storm with skin.”
Just take a moment and visualize that.

Sure, storms can be beautiful, even mesmerizing  – although more often they are chaotic, destructive, scary, dark, damaging and unpredictable.

It’s really not what other people hear in the words you use, it’s what you believe about those words.

The words we choose to describe our lives –
our circumstances (My life sucks.),
our jobs (I spend my days serving total f*cking losers!),
our children (Here comes trouble.)
and our selves (I’m too old to do that.)  become our mantras.
And not very good ones.

man·tra

noun \ˈmän-trə also ˈman- or ˈmən-\

: a sound, word, or phrase that is repeated by
someone who is praying or meditating

: a word or phrase that is repeated often or
that expresses someone’s basic beliefs

Many of us are absolutely not paying attention when we speak or when we are spoken to. Days of our lives slip by with daily confessions of “I’m so bored.” Or “I hate my job.” Or “I’m so depressed.”

Maybe life feels hard for you.
Maybe you’re stuck.
Maybe you’re resistant to change or don’t believe change is possible or that you deserve better.
Maybe you think changing a few words to describe your world is horse hooey.

But, our words become a self-fulfilling prophecy. The language you choose when talking about the tough spots counts.

Changing a word or two might not feel powerful, but being intentional when describing your life, the people you love and what you do with your hours can completely re-frame situations and validate the good, which sometimes sparks a glint of hope.

It’s coming along.
I have lots to offer.
I can find things to do.
I’m creative. I’ll make it work.
I may not be an athlete, but I am strong.
I work on getting healthier every day.
I deserve a good one.
I can do this better.

I am willing.

I’m not a girl. I’m a fiery, little powerhouse full of energy and possibility.

See what I mean?
#wordsarepowerful
#choosewisely

 

Leave a Reply

