Did I Say “I love you” Enough to Last a Lifetime

“Did I say “I love you” enough to last a lifetime?” Blog on stroke recovery by young mother, Kristin Traverse. I found another #soulsister. Ow, my heart. #heartopenwide

kristentraverse

This was taken two weeks after my stroke when I was allowed my first day pass out of the hospital.
Within three months, my world has been turned upside down. I very recently had a cryptogenic stroke which left me with Broca’s aphasia and apraxia. Aphasia and apraxia are just fancy medical terms for saying that my expressive communication (speaking and writing) was devastatingly affected.

At the age of 31, with two boys to raise, a nursing career and training for a 1/2 marathon, a stroke was not on my agenda. Strokes very rarely affect someone of my years, but more so important then my age, was the age of my two children; 4years old and 15 months. My kids were much too little and they needed their mother.

It was three days after my stroke where the shock had subsided and the gravity of what disabilities I had been…

View original post 1,253 more words

Leave a Reply

