Four Years: Screw Overnight Success

It’s a walk. Cliché, yes – a journey.

I just keep showing up. In the beginning, it was about forming a new habit – creating a new way of being. Then, it was routine and trial and error, new choices and swapping the old for something new. It’s my four year fitaversary (fitness+anniversary), and it’s a special date I mark with happy reverence.

IMG_3346After one year, I reaffirmed my commitment to exercise and better nutrition. Two years later, I was impressed I hadn’t thrown in the towel yet. Three years in, it became a way of life I truly love. And four years later, my body has completely recreated itself. I have loved my self into this strong, lean, work-of-art I never knew was me. (And I still weigh 170 pounds, people.) 

You see, I’m not talking about skinny anything. I loathe instant fixes and the promise of 2 week abs. #bullshit

Ideally, I’d love for us all to get beyond numbers and measurements and pants sizes.

Our current collective state of health cannot afford to still be focused on the cosmetic and aesthetic. This fitness journey of mine started as a “I-don’t-want-to-be-fat-anymore” journey, but has morphed organically into a “this-is-what-my-body-wants” state of being.

FullSizeRender (1)

The grand fitness discovery is that my fitness and wellness is a four part gig. It is the wellness of the little Kim inside me, my intelligence, my body – and my soul. It is caring for the whole me that makes me fit and strong.

“I got comfortable being uncomfortable. I adapted to feeling fatigued in that “I just wrestled a saber-toothed tiger” way. I got down with the barbell.” ~ Mel Joulwan

I’m paying attention. I’m listening – inside – like I’ve never listened before. I credit directly the healing I received during my Hoffman Process in 2012 – which truly was the single experience that saved my life (figuratively, and likely literally, eventually) – as well as my daughter’s (literally).

“The miracle is always there. Its presence is not caused by your vision; its absence is not the result of your failure to see. It is only your awareness of miracles that is affected. You will see them in the light; you will not see them in the dark.” ~ Marianne Williamson, A Course In Miracles, Lesson #91

IMG_3369
Stairs for Lunch

My body CRAVES these things:

love, touch, connection,
nature, earth, silence, prayer,
movement, walking, lifting heavy things,
good food, and by good, I mean wholesome and nutritious.

IMG_3269
Pie for Breakfast

Do I still treat myself? Um, yeah. The 2 McDonald’s Easter Creme Egg McFlurry’s I had in March were stellar. Bang Bang Shrimp and fresh Pretzel I taste tested at State & Main last night were to die for. I love delicious treats, lazy movie Saturdays, buttered popcorn with Skittles and regular lunches out with girlfriends.

 

IMG_3351
Home-made Tummy Love

But, day to day – I’m eating slow carb, no carb, low carb, once in a blue moon alcohol, less sugar, more organic, grass-fed, pastured (insert every healthy food trend word here) more protein, healthy fats, gut-friendly foods. Over and over … and over … again. I’m even making my own kombucha. BAM!

 

IMG_3359
Leftovers! Sweet Potato Soup

The coolest part of these choices? My taste buds now refuse the offensive taste of chemicals and fake factory food. My bowels work better that they have for the last 25 years. I’m almost forty-six and I feel blessed to live a life without a single prescription med. I feel so damn good.

 

Now, I understand anything can change – life happens; things can just ‘show up’ in the blood panels of healthy people – happens more than we like. But RIGHT NOW, TODAY – four years in to living the life I believe I was really meant to live – I am staying on course. 

Loving my (fit) life.

Leave a Reply

