The Shift That Makes Stuff Happen: Making the Leap From All-Talk to Action

action

“The world needs dreamers and the world needs doers. But above all, the world needs dreamers who do.” ~ Sarah Ban Breathnach

I’m fascinated by this information world we live in where we are pummelled by tips and advice and how-to articles and yet the majority of people still appear to struggle with varying degrees of dissatisfaction. If they aren’t miserable in their relationships, they are miserable at work, or miserable with their weight.

We get hung up on daydreaming about what our life could be like ‘if only’ we lost 20 pounds or found Mr. Right or landed a better paying gig. We criticize and blame others who ‘have it easier’ or who have taken what was ‘ours’. We self-soothe disappointment with food, or booze or shoes. We long for and talk about what we deserve and what we want and what could be ours, and we just keep talking. And reading. And seeking. And reading.

Click on another link, Kim…
Maybe that person will have the magic answer
to getting exactly what I want.

The grand delusion of accomplishment and success and fulfillment is that it arrives as a result of a laser-focus on desire. We vision-board and set milestones and recruit accountability partners. We meditate on how we’ll feel when we finally get there. I know this because I’ve done this.

There is an organic gestation term that happens with big creativity and creation and dreams. It’s useful. Necessary.

But, at some point we must lean in
and just damn well DO WHATEVER IT TAKES.

I’ve been a reader and a seeker and a learner since my early 20s, mostly self-development – be better, do better, have better. I’ve spent (literally) thousands of dollars on books, seminars, workshops and programs all in the name of personal progress. I’ve emptied pens of their ink in journals and plans and goals and underscoring important quotes in my favourite books. I’ve worked relentlessly to get through, grow, learn and expand. And there has been big payoff. I’m happier and healthier and more fulfilled and peaceful than I’ve ever been.

I’m so grateful to those who’ve shared their wisdom – their techniques and advice for growth. I’ve treasured time spent with those miracle minds who’ve inspired and led and encouraged legions of leaders and motivated achievers with brilliant books and tools and teachings. It’s all been worthwhile.

But it would have all been useless without ACTION.

Eventually, I just needed to put the damn book down, quit perpetually clicking links and stop believing that someone else held my MAGIC ANSWER.

I am my own champion.
I am the guru.
My own best teacher.
The keeper of the knowledge.
And so are you.

Trust that you know all that you need to know to make your dreams a reality. Stop talking about it and just DO it, already.

Nothing is ever going to work if you never actually get to it.
ACTION is the great deal maker.

I am SO on it.

“Create a definite plan for carrying out your desire and begin at once, whether you ready or not, to put this plan into action.” ~ Napoleon Hill

Leave a Reply

