A Girl Has Got To Try

I interviewed for an internship at the gym I go to and was accepted. They’re looking to cultivate future coaches, I love the gym and the way it makes me feel, it’s win-win.

Over the next 8 weeks, I’ll have to shadow and lead 72 classes (already did three yesterday) and get certified, plus plan workout, know regressions and progressions and obtain my first aid. All good things. There is no guarantee I’ll be given a position at the gym – this period is to see if we’re a fit for each other – culture, competency, knowledge, skill. But, I’m confident and I work hard and I’m passionate – so there’s that.

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t scared of my ability to earn by StrongFirst Certification. This is elite fitness – the kind of physical training that military, special ops and uber strong people do. There is a teeny voice in my head that says – you’re just a middle-age housewife from the prairie – – get a grip, woman. But, a girl has got to try.  

I’m grateful that it is written somewhere on my heart – “you are malleable – be willing to re-create yourself as you desire”.

I feel sad when I see people muddling along – believing they are who they are, that their days pre-determined, that they have no choice and that they can never be any different. We can always be different. We can always choose again.

One of the greatest gifts we’ve been given is FREE WILL: the ability to choose how we show up, what we think, what we believe and what we do. 

So, summer looks like: internship (9 hours a week), full time job, training schedule, 1 week at the lake, almost 1 week in NB/NS for girl time, walk the dog, barbecue now and then, and study in all my spare time with a sprinkling of sun tan and beach swims.

Happy to have the desire, freedom, energy and support to choose to live the way I want to.

DEEPLY GRATEFUL. 
In every cell of my body.
Gratitude.

Leave a Reply

